Virginia is a small state in the USA, however, it still has its own alcohol law. In case you are a visitor to this state or even consider yourself as a local, it is important to deeply understand alcohol laws as well as service hours here. So what exactly are Virginia alcohol hours? Let’s follow this article for more information!
Virginia Alcohol Hours
Hours of Service
- On-Premise Establishments
Monday to Sunday:
6:00 a.m. until 2:00 a.m. in mixed beverage localities;
6:00 a.m. until midnight in other localities.
- Off-Premise/Retail Stores:
Monday thru Sunday: 6:00 a.m. until 12:00 a.m.
- State Liquor Stores
Monday thru Saturday: 10:00 a.m. until 9:00 p.m.
Sunday: 1:00 p.m. until 6:00 p.m. for some stores.
Happy hours and other services restrictions
Licensees may not permit an individual to have more than two drinks at any one time amid a happy hour. Can not increment the volume of alcoholic refreshments contained in a drink without expanding proportionately the standard or setting up retail cost charged for such drink. May not offer two or more drinks for one cost, such as “two for one” or three for one.” No drink giveaways. Virginia law forbids Happy Hour between 9:00 p.m. and 2:00 a.m. of the next day.
Other Virginia Alcohol Laws
Minimum Age Laws in Virginia
What is the minimum age being allowed to work as an alcohol service staff or bartender? To work as a server in a setting that offers liquor to drink on-site? And what age to offer liquor to drink somewhere else?
Alcohol laws in Virginia allow grown-ups of age 18 or more seasoned to serve in settings offering liquor to drink on location. It for the most part requires them to be age 21 or more seasoned to work as bartenders. But grown-ups beneath 21 can offer or serve lager for on-premises utilization in a scene that offers lager as it were. They may moreover offer or serve wine for on-premises utilization.
Alcohol laws in Virginia don’t have any minimum legitimate age for offering liquor in a scene for off-site utilization. Be that as it may, another worker age 21 or more seasoned must be shown.
Virginia’s liquor laws let people of any age beneath 21 drink in a private home. A companion, parent, or gatekeeper must be displayed. They too let those beneath 21 have liquor as a visitor within the house of another. A parent, life partner, or guardian who is age 21 or more seasoned must be present in that place.
Selling Alcohol in Virginia
The local authority has the right to pose a punishment on a server or clerk who offers liquor to somebody beneath 21 up to $2,500. That fine level can be up to one year in imprisonment. For the first offense, local courts may fine you up to $2,000. It can too repudiate the liquor permit for a first-time offense.
Bars and nightclubs are illicit in Virginia. As it were eateries can serve drinks for utilization on the premises. Virginia is a liquor monopoly state for the deal of all refined spirits. That’s bourbon, gin, tequila, rum, bourbon, etc. So the state government possesses and works each alcohol store.
Read more >> ServSafe Alcohol Study Guide
Buying Alcohol in Virginia
Those beneath 21 are not allowed to purchase alcohol. The utilize of an untrue ID card to purchase it may be a criminal act. The penalty for employing an untrue could be a fine of up to $2,500 and/or one year in imprisonment. At the slightest, it’s a $500 fine or 50 hours of community benefit. The state may suspend the driver’s permit for up to one year.
Alcohol laws in Virginia have the punishment for having liquor beneath age 21, indeed in case, a grown-up is serious. It’s a fine of up to $2,500 and/or a year in imprisonment. At the slightest, it’s a fine level of $500 or approximately 50 hours of community service. In expansion, it’s a suspended driver’s permit for at least half of one year. The court also has the right to arrange liquor manhandle instruction, counseling, or treatment.
Apart from a parent or companion age 21 or more seasoned, giving liquor to anybody beneath age 21 is illicit. The punishment may be a imprison for up to 1 year and/or a fine of up to $2,500. It’s unlawful for anybody to drink alcoholic refreshments in public space. That incorporates such places as roads, parks, and parking places.
Driving in Virginia
According to Virginia alcohol laws, it is an infringement to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (which is often called BAC) of 0.08% or higher. For those beneath age 21, it’s illicit to drive with a BAC of 0.02% or higher. It would be 0.00% but for at least these three reasons. One is that breathalyzers are regularly untrustworthy and give untrue readings. Another is that everybody produces liquor in their bodies 24/7. A third is that numerous drugs, nourishments, and juices contain liquor. For case, natural product juices can create liquor in case cleared out as well long in a fridge. So setting the level at 0.02% diminishes the chances of unjustifiably sentencing blameless drivers.
Contacts of Virginia Alcohol Authority
Name: Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority
Address: 2901 Hermitage Road Richmond, Virginia 23220
- Official website
Read more>> Alcohol Laws in Ohio – What you should know
This article has provided you with the most basic information about Virginia alcohol hours as well as other related alcohol laws in Virginia. Keep in mind that this article should not be used as legal advice. Instead, this is just designed to give you a better knowledge of Virginia alcohol laws so that you can stay safe during the period of traveling or living here.
Visit our website to get more information and a free ServSafe Practice Test. To download, visit our website for your IOS or Android device.
Servsafe Manager Study Guide - All You Need to Know
Virginia Alcohol Hours: Things you should know
You’re living or going to visit Virginia? Here we will provide you with beneficial information about Virginia alcohol hours and law.
ServSafe Manager Practice Test
Do you seek a ServSafe Manager Practice Test that can be helpful for your preparation process? Let’s go straight in this article!